Walpole Wilderness


The Walpole Wilderness is a region that encompasses a group of important conservation areas in the south west of Western Australia.

The total size of the area is 325 116 hectares and incorporates the following parks and reserves:

Walpole-Nornalup National Park
Mount Frankland National Park
Mount Frankland North National Park
Mount Frankland South National Park
Mount Lindesay National Park
Mount Roe National Park
William Bay National Park
Shannon National Park
Valley of the Giants/Tree Top Walk

The Walpole Wilderness Area is home to some of Western Australia’s most stunning landscapes and supports a vast array of vegetation and habitats. The area protects:
Half of the old growth jarrah and karri forests in the south west of Western Australia.
Plant species that are not found anywhere else in the world.
Giant, old-growth tingle forests.
Rare orchids such as the blue babe-in-a-cradle orchid.
Threatened ecological communities such as the Mount Lindesay-Little Lindesay Granite Community.
Mammals such as the quokka, sunset frog, Nornalup frog, Walpole burrowing crayfish and the tingle trapdoor spider.
Deep River, and wetlands, such as the Owingup Swamp and Mount Soho swamps.

The Noongar people have long established ties to this region. The area contains sites of mythological, ceremonial, cultural and spiritual significance.